• World’s greatest ever sprinter Usain Bolt wins record-equalling fourth Laureus Award
  • Simone Biles and Michael Phelps among Rio Olympians honoured
  • Powerful surf therapy programme ‘Waves for Change’ wins Sport for Good Award
  • Breakthrough Award for Nico Rosberg after winning Formula One world title
  • New Best Sporting Moment Award won by Barcelona Under-12’s

MONACO  The premier global sports awards took place in the company of royalty as HSH Prince Albert and HSH Princess Charlene joined the biggest names in sport at the Laureus World Sports Awards inMonaco. At the Ceremony, Usain Bolt and Simone Biles were named Laureus Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year,following their outstanding performances in 2016. They are the little and large of sport – Usain stands 1.95 metres, while Simone measures just 1.45 metres but theywere both giants at the Rio de Janeiro Olympic Games, and enjoyed an ecstatic welcome as they received their Statuettes at the Laureus World Sports Awards Ceremony in Monaco today.


Bolt joins sporting greats RogerFederer, Serena Williams and Kelly Slater as four-time Laureus Award winner.The Rio Olympic and Paralympic Games produced three more Laureus winners: Michael Phelps, the mostdecorated Olympian of all-time, won Comeback of the Year after he returned to swimming and scooped five more gold medals; Italy’s Beatrice Vio, the only quadruple amputee in international wheelchair fencing, won the DisabilityAward, and the Olympic Refugee Team, led by Tegla Loroupe, won the Laureus Sport for Good Award forSporting Inspiration.The prestigious Laureus Sport for Good Award, won by an organization or individual who, in the opinion of themembers of the Laureus World Sports Academy, has used the power of sport to overcome violence, discriminationor disadvantage, went to Waves for Change. The South African based project uses the sport of surfing project forvulnerable young adults growing up in South Africa’s most violent communities.After finishing second in the Formula One World Championship to his Mercedes AMG Petronas team-mate LewisHamilton in 2014 and 2015, Germany’s Nico Rosberg at last won his first world title and he was presented with theLaureus Breakthrough of the Year Award.